The burning island
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York, New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2019].
ISBN
9780399174025 (hardcover)
Physical Desc
404 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Status

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Bedford Branch - Adult Collection - GeneralFICTION YOUNG Available
Bedford Branch - Adult Collection - GeneralFICTION YOUNG Available
Brecksville Branch - Adult Collection - GeneralFICTION YOUNG Available
Brooklyn Branch - Adult Collection - GeneralFICTION YOUNG Available
Garfield Heights Branch - Adult Collection - GeneralFICTION YOUNG Available
Show All Copies

Discover More!

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

More Details

Published
New York, New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2019].
Format
Book
Street Date
1811
Language
English
ISBN
9780399174025 (hardcover)

Notes

Description
"The newest haunting mystery from the beloved author of The Gates of Evangeline, featuring Charlie Cates, a headstrong heroine who must confront her unwanted supernatural gift and bring dark secrets to light if she ever wants to leave the Big Island. Journalist Charlie Cates has always believed in facts, in what can be proved--her career depends on it. Which is why she has never truly accepted the supernatural visions that guide her to children in danger. After her work on a high-profile missing-child case brings unwanted fame, she reluctantly flees to the lush Big Island of Hawaii with her best friend, Rae. Determined to avoid her disturbing visions, Charlie begins writing what seems to be a harmless interview of a prominent volcanologist, Victor Nakagawa. But her hopes for a peaceful vacation are soon dashed by haunting dreams of a local girl who went missing six weeks earlier. In the small and sleepy town of Kalo Valley, Charlie and Rae come to realize that even paradise has its ugly secrets, and the Nakagawa family is no exception. In order to find the missing teenager and stop a dangerous predator from striking again, Charlie is forced to embrace the gift she has always tried to conceal. Meanwhile, someone is watching her every move, and the closer Charlie gets to the truth, the more distant her chances of ever leaving the island alive. With a deliciously eerie and fast-paced story told in vivid prose, all with an overlay of supernatural suspense, The Burning Island is a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jennifer McMahon and Kate Atkinson"--,Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Young, H. (2019). The burning island . G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Young, Hester. 2019. The Burning Island. G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Young, Hester. The Burning Island G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2019.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Young, Hester. The Burning Island G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, 2019.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.